Jawan remanded in Bulandshahr case

first_imgThe Army handed over Jitendra Malik to the Uttar Pradesh Special Task Force team in Meerut late Saturday night.Earlier in the day, the Uttar Pradesh government transferred Raees Akhtar, who was the Additional Superintendent of Police (Rural) in Bulandshahr, six days after two people died in the mob violence following an alleged cow slaughter incident.The police have arrested nine accused in the Bulandshahr case but the main conspirator, Yogesh Raj, the district convener of the Bajrang Dal, is still on the run.Interrogation onOn Sunday, Mr. Malik, the accused jawan, was interrogated by the Crime Branch and the Special Investigation Team constituted by the U.P. government to probe the incident, the city Superintendent of Police (Crime) said.During the violence, Inspector Subodh Kumar Singh and a 20-year-old man died of gunshot wounds. Singh and his team had gone to the area to tackle the violence when they came under attack by the mob.The U.P. government has transferred four police personnel in all in the wake of the violence. In a statement, Principal Secretary (Home) Arvind Kumar said ASP Naeem Akhtar had been transferred to the PAC Headquarters in Lucknow.Manish Mishra, posted as additional superintendent of police at modern control room, Ghaziabad, has been made the new ASP (rural) of Bulandshahr. On Saturday, the U.P. government transferred Bulandshahr SSP Krishna Bahadur Singh to the DGP office in Lucknow. Mr. Kumar said the senior superintendent of police would be replaced by Sitapur SP Prabhakar Chaudhary. Two other policemen of Bulandshahr district — circle officer of Syana area Satya Prakash Sharma and Chingravati police chowki in-charge Suresh Kumar — have also been transferred.The transfers are understood to be in line with the findings of a report on the police handling of the situation, which was submitted by additional director general, Intelligence, S.B. Shiradkar on Friday.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *